David Storl takes full points with 21.51m

The IAAF Diamond League meeting series has just started off today in Doha, Qatar. The men's shot put event was pretty tight from the beginning. Unfortunately, the complete list of results is not availble. The server of the IAAF website is still down.... Sandra Perkovic wins the women discus event with 68.10m.

Storl has not yet started into a season better than today. The 7.26kg implement landed at 21.51m at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Doha. The temperatures are above 30 degrees. Comparison: Last year, the ball flew to 21.09m in Shanghai and two years ago 21.13m in Halle.

"The temperatures here have been great for me. I did not have to heat up a lot and so could rest my knee ," said the European indoor champion, who has a knee surgery behind him and therefore completed only a shortened indoor season.

The strong US team could not beat David Storl's second attempt. Reese Hoffa came with 21,30m the closest. Third place went to World Indoor champion Ryan Whiting, who also broke the 21-meter mark with 21.0m. Joe Kovacs came in fourth with 20.86m past the podium, he had reached the middle of April already 22,35 meters.

The results: 1. David Storl, 21.51m, 2. Reese Hoff, 21.30m, 3. Ryan Whiting, 21.06m, 4. Joe Kovacs, 20.85m

David Storl:

21,51m in the first competition! Successful start, only the knee was not so enthusiastic.
Now I will be taking off to Berlin to be able to compete in Halle, Germany at 16:20 o' clock. Then the duel will be against the former owner of the German season best Thomas Schmit (21.35m)

Nadine Müller strong second

An equally strong start in the Diamond League put discus thrower Nadine Müller back. As on Sunday in Wiesbaden and at the European Cup Winter Throwing-in March, the 29-year-old threw beyond the 65m (65.13 m). This performance meant second place.

A class of its own was once again Sandra Perkovic. The Croatian scored 68.10 meters. The Aussie Dani Samuels placed third with 64.45m

The women discus results: 1. Sandra Perkovic 68.10m, 2. Nadine Müller 65.13m, 3. Dani Samuels 64.45m

Source: Leichtathletik.de by Jan-Henner Reitze