Quote from Ed ODisplay More
I made that exact point Tony, among several others that just bounced off. The thing is, if you read the current cases, they actually have a sliver of support (part B, specifically):
2008 Casebook, pg 66:
6.5.9 Situation A: After entering the circle, A1: (a) proceeds to wipe off the shot with a towel and then discards the towel outside the ring, or removes his or her sweatshirt and discards it outside the ring; (b) touches the ground outside the circle or top of the stopboard with hand, foot or other part of the body before the put is marked; or (c) A1's glasses fall off and land outside the ring before the put is marked. Ruling: Legal in (a), but a foul in (b). In (c), unintentional touching of personal equipment outside the circle before the put is marked does not, by itself, constitute a foul.
Essentially, by changing the casebook, they changed the rules without really telling anyone or putting it in the points of emphasis. At least that's the interpretation of Nebraska. What's really ridiculous is that part (b) isn't even a case, it's just a rewording of the rules with no explanation.
published at May 16th 2008 12:32am on http://www.effortlessthrow.org/